Introducing Elysion’s “Sounds of Shards” Project

By | October 3, 2014

Mark Doezé (Elysion), the person who makes the sound in our podcast amazing every week and is also a sound designer and composer for the game studio Little Chicken, has been quietly mastering and creating several sound files for Hex.  For months, he has been distributing them to a small group of friends; now everyone can have access to them.

Of note, the project continues to be a work in progress that Mark does in his spare time.  When he releases a new series of sounds, we will post updates on the blog letting you know that he has new sounds for you to add. Also, the file he provides here contains all the original sounds so you are able to revert at any time.

To install the new sounds, follow these directions:

1) Download the .rar file from here.
2) Extract the .rar file (you may need a .rar extractor, there are tons to choose from).
3) Navigate to your SFX folder for Set 1.  On Windows, for example, you would find them in the following path: C:Program Files (x86)HexDataSetsSet001SFX
4) Copy and paste the shard folders to this folder, replacing the ones that presently exist there. You will get a dialogue box asking if you want to replace the files, click yes.

That’s it. Enjoy your new, remastered, and expanded sounds in game!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.